Lauded for ‘delicate yet virtuosic’ playing (BBC Music Magazine) and ‘seamless subtleties of tone colour’ with ‘plenty of edge’ (The Strad), Swiss-French-German cellist Christoph Croisé is quickly building an international reputation as one of the most captivating young concert soloists to emerge in recent years.

At the age of 17, he made his New York debut at Carnegie Hall, where he has performed on several occasions since. He also appears regularly in further world-renowned concert halls including the Tonhalle Zurich, the Berliner Philharmonie, the Wigmore Hall London, the Vienna Konzerthaus, the Residenz Munich, the Capella St. Petersburg, the Philharmonia St. Petersburg and the State Philharmonia Baku.

As a soloist, he has appeared under the batons of conductors such as M. Sanderling, M. Venzago, D. Boyd, L. Gendre, K. Griffiths, A. Guliyev, A. Ardal, M. Dones, G. Bria and D. Botinis with various orchestras including the Musikkollegium Winterthur, the St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra, the Bern Symphony Orchestra, the State Symphony Orchestra Baku, Azerbaijan, the Camerata Switzerland, the Munich Radio Orchestra, the Camerata Zurich, the Southwest German Philharmonic Orchestra of Constance, the Sichuan Symphony Orchestra, the State Capella Symphony Orchestra St. Petersburg, Russia, the Collegium Musicum Basel, the Izmir State Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre symphonique de Mulhouse, the Radio Symphony Orchestra Tirana, the Bavarian Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra, the Orquesta Sinfonica de Michoacan, the Harbin Symphony Orchestra and the Philharmonic Orchestra Budejovice.

Several of his concerts, such as the Schumann concerto with the Munich Radio Orchestra, have been broadcast live on radio and television by the Bavarian Radio, the Norddeutscher Rundfunk, WQXR, BBC, RTS, RSI, SRF, WMFT and others.

Christoph Croisé is regularly invited to perform at prestigious festivals such as the Festival “Musical Olympus” in St. Petersburg, New York, and Baku, the Lucerne Festival, the Radio France Festival Montpellier, the Davos Festival “Young Artists in Concert”, the Menuhin Festival Gstaad, the Salzkammergut Festwochen Gmunden, the Schwarzwald Music Festival, the Festival de Sully, the Belfast International Arts Festival, the Emilia-Romagna Festival and the Festival de Musique de Wissembourg.

As a chamber musician, he has performed with Dmitri Sitkovetsky, Mayuko Kamio, Bartłomiej Nizioł, Isabelle van Keulen, Andrey Baranov, Sergey Ostrovsky, Kirill Troussov, Alexander Zemtsov, Vladimir Mendelssohn, Marie Chilemme, Christoffer Sundqvist, Anna Fedorova, Oliver Schnyder, Oxana Shevchenko, Nikita Mndoyants, Lorenzo Soulès and Alexander Panfilov.

He has been laureate of several first prizes at international competitions including the Schoenfeld International String Competition Harbin/China (2016), the “2nd Berliner International Music Competition 2018” (First Grand Prize), the Manhattan International Music Competition (2016), the International “Salieri-Zinetti” Competition in Verona/Italy (2016), the International Johannes Brahms Competition (2015), the International Competition “Ibla Grand Prize” in Sicily (2010), the International Competition “Petar Konjović” in Belgrad (2009), the Migros-Kulturprozent in Zurich (2015 and 2016), the International Carlos Prieto Competition Morelia/Mexico (3rd Prize, 2016) and the First Berliner International Music Competition (Golden Medal with honors, 2017) . In 2017 Christoph Croisé was awarded the Swiss Ambassador’s Award. In 2018 Christoph Croisé was awarded the “Prix Jeune soliste 2019 des Médias francophone publics”.

His debut album with Oxana Shevchenko was released in May 2015 on Quartz Classics. In February 2017 his second album was released on Genuin Records containing Othmar Schoecks’ cello concerto. His debut album with Oxana Shevchenko was released in May 2015 on Quartz Classics. In February 2017 his second album was released on Genuin Records containing Othmar Schoecks’ cello concerto. His third album with both Haydn cello concertos was released on AVIE Records in March 2019 and won the Supersonic Award from the Pizzicato Magazine and the „Clef D’Or“ for the best concerto album of 2019 from the ResMusica Magazine. His fourth CD „The Russian Album“ was released on November 1st 2019 on AVIE Records together with the pianist Alexander Panfilov.

Christoph Croisé began playing the cello at the age of seven under the tutelage of Katharina Kühne. Since 2007, he has been studying with Alexander Neustroev and, as of 2013, with Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt at the Berlin University of Arts. as of 2013, with Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt at the Berlin University of Arts. He has additionally benefited from major artistic advice from Steven Isserlis, Michael Sanderling, David Geringas, Walter Grimmer, and Frans Helmerson.

Christoph Croisé plays on a Goffriller cello made in Venice in 1712.

Christoph Croisé is very thankful for the multiple scholarships granted to him over the last past years by the Lyra Foundation.

Von Tagesspiegel als „Cellist mit feinnervigem Habitus und warmer, inniger Timbrierung“ gekürt, zählt Christoph Croisé zu einem der vielseitigsten Cellisten seiner Generation.

Bereits mit 17 Jahren gab er sein Debut in der Carnegie Hall New York, wo er seitdem regelmässig aufgetreten ist. Weitere Auftritte führten ihn in renommierte Konzertsäle wie der Tonhalle Zürich, dem Konzerthaus Wien, der Philharmonie Berlin, der Wigmore Hall London, der Residenz München, der Capella St. Petersburg, der Philharmonie St. Petersburg und der Philharmonie Baku.

Als Solist trat er u. a. unter der Leitung von M. Sanderling, M. Venzago, D. Boyd, L. Gendre, K. Griffiths, A. Guliyev, A. Ardal, M. Dones, G. Bria und D. Botinis mit verschiedenen Orchestern wie dem Musikkollegium Winterthur, dem Sinfonieorchester St. Petersburg/Russland, dem Berner Sinfonieorchester, dem Staatlichen Sinfonieorchester Baku/Azerbaijan, der Camerata Schweiz, dem Münchner Rundfunkorchster, der Camerata Zürich, der Südwestdeutschen Philharmonie Konstanz, dem Sichuan Symphony Orchestra, dem Symphonieorchester der Staatskapelle St. Petersburg/Russland, dem Collegium Musicum Basel, dem Izmir State Symphony Orchestra, dem Orchestre symphonique de Mulhouse, dem Radio Symphonieorchester Tirana, dem Kammerorchester der Bayrischen Philharmonie, dem Orquesta Sinfonica de Michoacan, dem Symphonieorchester Harbin und dem Philharmonischen Orchester Budejovice auf.

Mehrere Live-Übertragungen wurden durch Rundfunk und Fernsehen gesendet, beispielsweise das Schumann Cellokonzert mit dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester durch den Bayrischen Rundfunk und weitere durch u. a. WQXR, BBC, RSI, RTS, SRF, NDR, und WMFT.

Christoph Croisé ist gern gesehener Gast bei zahlreichen Festivals wie u. a. dem Festival „Musical Olympus“ in St. Petersburg, New York und Baku, dem Lucerne Festival, dem Radio France Festival Montpellier, dem Davos Festival „Young Artists in Concert“, dem Menuhin Festival Gstaad, den Salzkammergut Festwochen Gmunden, dem Schwarzwald Musikfestival, dem Festival de Sully, dem Belfast International Arts Festival, dem Emilia-Romagna Festival und dem Festival de musique de Wissembourg.

Kammermusikalisch trat Christoph Croisé u. a. mit Dmitri Sitkovetsky, Mayuko Kamio, Bartłomiej Nizioł, Isabelle van Keulen, Andrey Baranov, Sergey Ostrovsky, Kirill Troussov, Alexander Zemtsov, Vladimir Mendelssohn, Marie Chilemme, Christoffer Sundqvist, Anna Fedorova, Oliver Schnyder, Oxana Shevchenko, Nikita Mndoyants, Lorenzo Soulès und Alexander Panfilov auf.

Er ist Gewinner des First Grand Prize am Internationale Wettbewerb „2nd Berliner International Music Competition“ 2018, der Goldmedaille mit Auszeichnung am Internationalen Wettbewerb „First Berliner International Music Competition“ 2017, des 1. Preises beim Internationalen Wettbewerb „Schoenfeld International String Competition“ in Harbin/China 2016, des 1. Preises beim Internationalen Wettbewerb „Manhattan International Music Competition“ 2016, des 3. Preises beim internationalen Wettbewerb „Carlos Prieto International Cello Competition“ Morelia/Mexico 2016, des 1. Preises am Internationalen „Salieri-Zinetti“ Wettbewerb in Verona/Italien 2016, des 1. Preises beim Internationalen Johannes-Brahms-Wettbewerb in Pörtschach 2015, des 1. Preises beim internationalen Wettbewerb „Petar Konjovic“ in Belgrad 2009 und des 1. Preises beim internationalen Wettbewerb „Ibla Grand Prize“ in Sizilien 2010. 2015 und 2016 gewann Christoph Croisé den Studienpreis des Migros-Kulturprozent und ist seit 2016 in die Konzertvermittlung des Migros Kulturprozent aufgenommen. 2017 bekam Christoph Croisé dem Swiss Ambassador’s Award verliehen. 2018 wurde Christoph Croisé der „Prix Jeune soliste 2019 des Médias francophone publics“ verliehen.


Im Mai 2015 wurde seine Debut CD mit Oxana Shevchenko beim Label Quartz Classics veröffentlicht. 2017 erschien seine zweite CD mit Othmar Schoecks‘ Cellokonzert beim Label Genuin. Seine dritte CD mit beiden Haydn Cellokonzerten erschien im März 2019 beim Label AVIE Records und am 1. November 2019 erschien seine vierte CD „The Russian Album“ zusammen mit dem russischen Pianisten Alexander Panfilov beim Label AVIE Records.

Christoph Croisé erhielt seinen ersten Cellounterricht mit sieben Jahren bei Katharina Kühne. Seit 2007 wird er von Alexander Neustroev unterrichtet. Seit 2013 studiert Christoph bei Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt an der Universität der Künste Berlin. Massgebende künstlerische Impulse erhielt er ausserdem durch Steven Isserlis, Michael Sanderling, David Geringas, Walter Grimmer und Frans Helmerson.

Christoph Croisé spielt ein Goffriller Violoncello, welches im Jahre 1712 in Venedig gebaut wurde.

Für die langjährige, finanzielle Unterstützung der Stiftung Lyra ist Christoph Croisé sehr dankbar.